Pencils-n-flies

Creating A Sluggo Type Mold

I would like to make my own soft plastic baits this winter. I'm a saltwater angler and trying to make a 9 inch Sluggo type mold.

Have two questions:

1) What materials do I need to make a mold? Any basic pointers in crafting the mold?

2) Once the mold is build what type of liquid plastic and coloring products do you recommend?

Thanks,

PnF

Check out lurecraft they have a few sluggo molds and priced right and of course they have everything you need to get started. This would be the easiest way to get started then you can proceed from there as you become more experienced.

I am not sure if Lurecraft has sluggo type molds with a bait of 9". If not, and don't have another source, consider making a fiberglass resin mold of the existing 9" sluggo baits you have. As a newbie, I made a resin sluggo mold for 4" and 6". See lower left of pic below. It was one of my better 1st attempts, and required only minor touch-up with the dremel tool. I found allot of good advice on making the resin mold on this site.

Plastics5.jpg

Fuzzy-

If possible can you please share the type/brand of fiberglass resin you use? And how long do you let the fiberglass resin mold cure?

Do you happen to know if Clear Casting Resin will work to create a mold?

Thanks

P-n-F

I am not sure if Lurecraft has sluggo type molds with a bait of 9". If not, and don't have another source, consider making a fiberglass resin mold of the existing 9" sluggo baits you have. As a newbie, I made a resin sluggo mold for 4" and 6". See lower left of pic below. It was one of my better 1st attempts, and required only minor touch-up with the dremel tool. I found allot of good advice on making the resin mold on this site.

Plastics5.jpg