RayburnGuy

Help Choosing A Bench Top Bandsaw

I know quite a few of you guys have a woodworking background and I'm hoping you can give me your opinions on a decent bench top band saw. Hoping to find one for around $100. Give or take $20 or $30. I know you get what you pay for, but all I'll be using it for will be cutting out lure bodies. I've read reviews on different saws until I'm more confused now than when I started. Would really appreciate some advice in picking one out.

thanks guys,

Ben

When you buy your saw, pick up a few spare blades too. There is nothing worse than a blade snapping half way through a session.

Get to know the saw before starting work, they do not come ready to start. Read the instructions, open it up, remove the guard and adjust everything. There are 8 adjustments on a standard bandsaw, ignore them at your peril.

Dave

I have an old version of Mastercraft 9 inch band saw. I'm guessing you're from the states and Canadian Tires do not exist down there but if they do wait until it goes on sale and you could get it for about 40-50% off. Either way I see the newer model has a laser guide and more importantly a bearing guide and a mitre gauge.

http://www.canadiant...r.jsp?locale=en

I do everything free hand but a bearing guide would be nice for ripping wood for through wire work or cutting a thicker board to proper lure thickness. Mitre gauge would probably be handy as well. As for the laser, might be useful but I've never used one, probably would help keep one from making mistakes after their 15th consecutive blank. Oh the little light on it is helpful, helps you see that pencil line which can be a bit hard to see on oak.