ScottC

Heating Jigs Problems

I was wondering if you experienced jig painters could give me some advice on a problem I am having with my jigs. I am new to painting jigs and have done ALOT of reading on here and a few other places and have tried to follow what I have read and have run into an issue. I am heating my jigs heads in a toaster oven set at 350 degrees which is actually closer to 425 according to my oven thermometer that I have put in there, for about 20-30 min. The problem I am having is that even light 1/16th ounce jigs after being heated for 30 minutes are not melting the powder paint when I dip them they are all powdery and I have to put them into the oven again to melt the paint before I dip them in the next color.

How long are you guys preheating your jigheads before you dip? What temps? Any suggestions?

I heat mine at 350F (setting and measured temp), for 20-25 minutes. Some will melt and other will have a dull, powdery finish. The cure stage, I used 325F for 20 minutes, makes them all nice and shiny and very durable. I say cure them all. ;)

Edited by FuzzyGrub

I heat mine at 350F (setting and measured temp), for 20-25 minutes. Some will melt and other will have a dull, powdery finish. The cure stage, I used 325F for 20 minutes, makes them all nice and shiny and very durable. I say cure them all. ;)

I cured them thinking that it would be no problem and that they should shine up nicely but they after 30 min at 400 they are still very dull almost fuzzy looking still, but they are nice and hard.

I cured them thinking that it would be no problem and that they should shine up nicely but they after 30 min at 400 they are still very dull almost fuzzy looking still, but they are nice and hard.

400F is too hot, but not sure if it is causing your problem. What powder paint brand and colors are you using?

Edited by FuzzyGrub

400F is too hot, but not sure if it is causing your problem. What powder paint brand and colors are you using?